Meet the Makers, workshops & demos - Made to Commission - Sat 24 Mar 2018 -Mon 07 May 2018

Jubilee Gallery, FREE.

Free Meet the Makers and craft demonstration events - part of the Made to Commission exhibition.

Throughout this exhibition at Devon Guild of Craftsmen based on the commissioning of craft and the process behind bespoke making for customers - there is a series of free events with Guild Members presenting about how they commission and their craft practice, as well as days where they're stewarding in the gallery. The series of free craft events takes place at regular intervals throughout the duration of the exhibition. Just drop in to meet the makers, chat to the stewards and see presentations / gallery talks at 11am & 2.30pm (2x per day). Drop-in no need to book.

maker-Christine-Ann-Richards-porcelain-craftMEET THE MAKER (11am & 2.30pm)

Find out about Member’s craft. FREE

Sat 24 March - Ekta Kaul: Textiles
Sun 25 March - Liz Clay: Felt (talk at 11.30 & 1.30pm)
Thurs 29 March - Hilary Burns: Baskets
Mon 2 April - Steve Whitford: Jewellery & Silver
Sat 7 April - Celia Smith: Metal
Sun 8 April - Christine-Ann Richards: Ceramics (11am - 4pm)
Sat 14 April - Sandy Brown: Ceramics
Sun 15 April - Vivien Prideaux: Textiles & Embroidery
Sun 22 April - Luke Shepherd: Sculpture
Sat 28 April - Trudie Timlin Brown: Weaving
Sat 5 May - Wayne Victor Meeten: Jewellery & Silver
Sun 6 May - Gillie Hoyte Byrom: Enamelling

WORKSHOPS: 10am - 4pm

Drop-in and take part! FREE
Tues 3 April - Debby Mason: Polyprints

DEMO & Have a Go: 10.30am - 3.45pm
Sun 29 April - Roberta Ayles: Fused Glass
3x 1.5 hour sessions 10.30am, 12.15 & 2.15pm
Book for ltd. spaces
(01626 832223)
also 1st come 1st served!

DEMONSTRATIONS: 10am - 4pm

Drop-in, watch and ask questions! FREE

Thurs 5 April - Peter Lanyon: Furniture (in the courtyard)
Mon 16 April - Vivien Prideaux: Textiles & Embroidery
Sat 21 April - Michelle Greenwood Brown: Mosaics
Tues 24 April - Ross Emerson: Ceramics

The following Members will be STEWARDING and available to chat to in the gallery on these dates:

31 March - Jill Fanshawe-Kato
1 April-  Jill Fanshawe-Kato
6 April - Neil Bromley
9 April - Christine-Ann Richards
20 April - Luke Shepherd
4 May - Neil Bromley
7 May - Gillie Hoyte Byrom

Image (right) Christine-Ann Richards making with porcelain,
photographer Suzanne Stewart

 

< Back

 






Ekta-Kaul-maker-stitching


Wayne-Meeten-making-ladies-Gold-Cuff.
Images (above top): Ekta Kaul (textiles); Wayne Meeten (precious metals, jewellery and silver)